About Australian Grape & Wine Inc

National Wine Biosecurity Committee

The National Wine Biosecurity Committee will provide input into, and oversight of the strategy, as well as advice on setting wine sector biosecurity policy. The Committee is a collaboration of grape and wine producers, nursery and vine improvement organisations, wine sector supply chain participants, biosecurity and technical experts and Wine Australia.

The committee members are:

  • Louisa Rose, Yalumba Group (Chair)
  • Colin Bell, AHA Viticulture
  • Damien Sheehan, Mount Langi Ghiran Vineyard
  • Ben Harris, Treasury Wine Estates
  • Liz Riley, Vitibit consulting
  • Mike Hayes, Sirromet Wines
  • Nick Dry, Foundation Viticulture
  • Prue Henschke, Henschke Wines
  • Paul Smart, Wine Tasmania
  • Larry Jorgensen (Wines of Western Australia)
  • Mark Bourne (NSW Wine Industry Association)

The committee also involves representation from employees and CEOs of Vinehealth Australia, Wine Australia and Australian Grape & Wine.

The Committee will improve plant biosecurity outcomes on behalf of the sector through managing plant biosecurity risks through its leadership and influence within the sector, and through collaboration with stakeholders including Plant Health Australia and State and Federal Government agencies.  It will assist with R, D & E priority setting, identification of knowledge and preparedness gaps, review of national biosecurity surveillance measures, diagnostics and information systems, sector capacity building and advocacy to support adoption of best practice biosecurity measures.  

About Australian Grape & Wine
Policy & Issues
Media & Events
Stay up-to-date with Australian Grape & Wine

Contact us today