About Australian Grape & Wine Inc

Wine Industry Technical Advisory Committee

Australian Grape & Wine’s Wine Industry Technical Advisory Committee (WITAC):

  • reviews and provide technical input on wine production to Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)
  • provides technical input into international fora, including the Codex Alimentarius Commission and the OIV
  • assesses technical requirements of trading partners and provide advice to Australian Grape & Wine to liberalise these requirements


  • Iain Jones – Treasury Wine Estates (Chair)
  • Nick Bruer – Pernod Ricard Winemakers
  • Richard Angove – Angove Family Winemakers
  • Frank Mallamace – Casella Family Brands
  • Jessica Pater – Wine Australia
  • Gregory Jackson – Tarac Technologies
  • Russell Johnson – Consultant
  • Peter Leske – Vina La Linea
  • Heather Fraser – Hill-Smith Family Estates
  • Greg Edwards – VinPac
  • Jason Amos – Lallemand
  • Tilly Bowden- Enartis / Wine Industry Suppliers Association (WISA)
  • Steve Guy – Stephen Guy (Consultant)


  • Marcus Herderich – The Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI)
  • Eric Wilkes – The Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI)
  • Ned Hewitson – Wine Australia
  • Mark Fitzroy – Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)


  • Damien Griffante -Australian Grape & Wine
  • Anna Hooper – Australian Grape & Wine
  • Sandy Davis – Minute Secretary

Terms of Reference

WITAC will comprise Australian wine makers and observers as determined by the Chair. It will meet four times each year and at other times when required.

WITAC will provide recommendations and advice to the Board of Australian Grape & Wine with regard to technical issues for the Australian wine industry, and for other related matters which may arise from time to time.

This advice will, inter alia and as required address:

  • Identifying research priorities for the Australian wine industry.
  • Standards development and preparation of applications and submissions to FSANZ.
  • Provision of technical advice on technical market access issues, including, inter alia, OIV resolutions, Codex Alimentarius Commission and OIML.
  • Any other technical related issue that requires a policy position from the wine sector.

The Chair of the Committee will be appointed by the Board of Australian Grape & Wine. Membership is open to Australian Grape & Wine members and is subject to approval by the Board of Australian Grape & Wine. Observers will be invited by the Chair as determined on an expert basis.

All decisions are based on consensus. The Committee is not a decision making body and all recommendations must be endorsed by the respective Boards of the Peak bodies before they become policy.

About Australian Grape & Wine
Policy & Issues
Media & Events
Stay up-to-date with Australian Grape & Wine

Contact us today